The Lure of the Exotic

I was at Lowe’s yesterday to buy bolts for my latest outdoor project, and ever since then I’ve been stuck thinking about delphinium (commonly known as larkspur). I know that may seem unrelated, but I’m simply not capable of going to Lowe’s and not looking at plants.

The worst part is, when I got home  I realized somehow I nabbed one screw that’s a good inch too short for my project. I know I checked the lengths so the only logical conclusion is that I subconsciously decided to entrap myself in a return trip during which I would, of course, have to buy the plant that’s calling me.

Most people would have probably put this internal turmoil to rest yesterday by just plopping the plant in their cart and moving on. But you see, I’ve been trying to be good and budget my plant spending money over the course of months, not days. I’ve been trying to rearrange and improve the chaotic mess already in my yard rather than adding new heights and colors that don’t match anything and will ultimately end up in my “plant cemetery” at the back of the house. I’ve been trying to swap and steal plants from friends’ gardens rather than splurging on new things every time a flashy color catches my eye.

Blue delphinium provided a rich accent against white daisies, tulips and roses. Bouquet courtesy of Thompson’s Florist. Photography courtesy of J. Pool Photography.

But oh, delphinium! I have a special affinity for the blue variety of this flower since it provided the accent in my wedding bouquet. I had chosen for my colors royal blue and white; upon deciding the event would be held outdoors, I began to assume the day would be overcast if not full of thunder (only partly the case) and I wanted to have a rich blue represented somewhere in my photos, if it wasn’t to be in the sky. Blue is not a common flower color, but the delphiniums did the job most beautifully.

Cindy here knows what I’m talking about. How gloriously original this blue is! Hammelmans’ blog describes the flower as “carefree.” The HGTV blog notes that hummingbirds love these fragrant flowers (I stopped reading after that because it’s not helping my self-persuasion to know some varieties can reach 8 feet…).

But where oh where in my stunted flowerbeds will I put such a striking plant?

… I suppose there’s really only one way to find out …

One response to “The Lure of the Exotic

  1. Pingback: Larkspur Update | Blooming Oasis

Leave a Reply

