An Especially Good Year for the Roses

Wow, a month has gone by and I haven’t provided an update to the garden! Oh right, that’s because of the killer heat that has done in my grass and has kept me and the dog locked indoors during the daylight hours. The heat has been great on the one hand, as I’ve been working non-stop for paying blogs, but terrible on the other hand because I know my dear readers are anticipating an update!

So for this week, I’ll just provide a simple update, with much, much more to follow next week.

I did promise several months ago to keep you posted on my Sweet Drift roses, the delicate pink border planted along the flowerbed I created earlier this year. Those roses have been the resounding success story of the summer, as they have taken off in a big way, with little upkeep or maintenance. I have a buried soaker hose that flows along the border of the deck-side flowerbeds, but never quite reaches the roses. Little matter, as they seem to thrive on neglect and shine under ridiculously hot weather. How else to explain the explosion of pink blooms at a time when every tree in the yard is wilting?

This explosion of Sweet Drift roses has thrived under the hottest of summer suns.

When I do venture outside, during the cool evening hours, the sweet smell of roses is heavy in the air on the deck, near the pond, and across the yard. The scent reminds me of summers at my grandmother’s house, and makes me smile, but if you’re the least bit sensitive to odors you’ll want to keep these happy vines far from the front walk.

As a good reminder for us all, Akira stops here to smell the roses.

The other happy plant this summer is, perhaps not surprisingly, the water lily. It took several months longer than expected, but about the middle of June the water plant finally began to flourish. It has had a couple of two-bloom days in the last week, and the leaves have become plentiful and big enough that our resident frog has taken to hiding under them. I can’t say enough in favor of plants I don’t have to water!

This water lily took several months to get growing, but by mid-July had become a koi haven.

Last, my Little Lime hydrangea has begun shooting its unique greenish blooms just where I can see them over the porch rail. It’s apparently enjoying its heavily shaded placement, and the spot it secured close to the origin of the soaker hose, as it’s been blooming steadily for about two weeks now. I’m anticipating a fair amount of pruning in the fall to see if I can promote more compact growth in this plant, but in the meantime am enjoying the tease of its blossoms just where I can see them from the front door.

This uniquely green-white hydrangea is thriving in heavy shade and regularly moistened soil.

Leave a Reply

