Spring Maintenance

The weather wasn’t quite as nice today as Wednesday, but having been bitten by spring fever, I wasn’t quite ready to play inside. In addition to my fish, spring’s approach is being sung by those wonderful early bloomers, crocus.

20130228-153141.jpg

With five or six yellow blooms bobbing along in my garden, I finally had a good outline for laying down the stepping stones I got for Christmas. My pathway has finally wound itself to the other side of the garden – which has simply served to remind me it’s time to add more monkey grass!

20130228-153352.jpg

Since the sun was still warm, I began incurring back the old to make room for already-growing new. Yesterday I cut back the vines of honeysuckle that cover the southern fence: two hours worth of hacking with dull shears at the accumulated dead vines to free up space for eagerly clambering arrivals. Today I took the already budding roses down to a level that seemed too short last winter (hopefully not causing permanent damage). Finally I cut the candy tufts back by a good half foot to get them out of the front walk; blooms are just starting there and should be a showy mass in just a few short weeks.

20130228-154104.jpg

The best surprise of all came when I took my armloads of compost out to the woods: a happy volunteer lighting up the woodland path.

20130228-153956.jpg

I love spring surprises!

Leave a Reply

